The Board

The LUMA Centre Finland has a Board that

  • takes care of the centre’s operating preconditions,
  • strengthens the centre’s common strategy,
  • approves the annual action plan and budget,
  • directs and supports the work of the Director as well as
  • approves the annual activity report of the centre.

Each partner university has appointed its representative and deputy representative to the Board. The University of Tampere and the TUT Foundation have appointed a joint representative and a joint deputy representative. Members and their vice-members January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2019:

University Member Deputy Member
Aalto University Foundation Professor, Dr. Ilkka Tittonen Professor, Dr. Keijo Nikoskinen
Lappeenranta University of Technology Postdoctoral researcher, Dr. Virpi Junttila Postdoctoral researcher, Dr. Johanna Naukkarinen
Tampere University University lecturer, Dr. Riikka Lahtinen University lecturer, Dr. Jorma Joutsenlahti
University of Eastern Finland University lecturer, Dr. Mervi Asikainen Professor, Dr. Sari Havu-Nuutinen
University of Helsinki Professor, Dr. Juha Oikkonen Professor, Dr. Ismo Koponen
University of Jyväskylä Professor, Dr. Jan Lundell Professor, Dr. Tommi Kärkkäinen
University of Lapland University lecturer, Dr. Anna-Maija Partanen University teacher, M.Sc. Pieti Tolvanen
University of Oulu Professor, Dr. Jouni Pursiainen University lecturer, Dr. Sari Harmoinen
University of Turku Professor, Dr. Erkki Sutinen Docent, Dr. Mikko-Jussi Laakso
University of Vaasa Project Manager, Dr. Maarit Mäkelä Professor, Dr. Tommi Sottinen
Åbo Akademi University Professor, Dr. Ronald Österbacka Professor, Dr. Kirsti Hemmi

The Board has elected a chairman (Professor, Dr. Jan Lundell) and vice chairman (University lecturer, Dr. Mervi Asikainen) from among its members.

Besides, the Board has decided to invite to its meetings, as permanent expert members with the right to attend and speak, for the period ending on 31 December 2019:

Member Deputy Member
LUMA Centre of Central Ostrobothnia Professor, Dr. Ismo Hakala Professor, Dr. Ulla Lassi
LUMA Centre Päijänne Tavastia University Lecturer, Dr. Anna-Lea Rantalainen University lecturer, Dr. Jarkko Lampiselkä

Further, the Board has decided that other specialists may be called upon to attend meetings of the Board whenever necessary for specific matters and, in the event that a nominated representative or deputy representative of the university are prevented from attending, even remotely, the University may be represented by another expert as an expert member.


The Director handles the operational management of the centre under the action plan. The Director also prepares the decisions for the Board.

The Rector of the University of Helsinki appoints the director for a three-year term, after consulting the partner universities.

During the term January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2019 the Director is Professor, Dr. Maija Aksela from the University of Helsinki.

Other administration

The university, where the Director of the centre is appointed, is responsible for the management and coordination of the center.